GPA && LOR

child of 2

Hi, new here.

-----------------GPA

I'm chem e, third year, large state school. I've done research in the past, but it's only been recently that I've started to get really serious about it. I'll probably have a publication (if not 2) by the end of this semester. But that's not what I'm worried about. My GPA will be somewhere between 3.5 and 3.55 by the time I apply for grad schools. Major GPA would be somewhere around 3.8...

I want to go to a good grad school, preferably a small private school that's not in the middle of nowhere. I've yet to do any research on faculty member with whom I would like to work. But for now, based on my GPA, what feedback can I get on the caliber of schools I can apply to?

-----------------LOR

I'm currently in my third year, and I have 2 probable sources of LOR (my research profs). I have a choice of trying to get an internship for the summer, or pick up another research project with another professor. My faculty adviser offered to write me a LOR, but that was 2 years ago, and I haven't really talked to her in... 2 years... If I decide research, industry experience can still be done down the road. For now, I'm wondering where I should get my third LOR.

any advice is appreciated. I will consult my adviser, but I always want to hear from more people. thanks

P.S. I'm interested in PhD

Congratulations on your soon-to-be publication(s)! An impressive feat to accomplish as an undergrad while studying chem eng!

I am not an engineer, but I go to a top engineering institution.

Most people I know in the PhD program here have a wealth of industry experience, so taking time off before pursuing your doctorate may be a good idea to help lessen the effect of your GPA, make you a more experienced candidate and help you make better connections for your LORs (from what I have read engineering programs sometimes accept one of three references from a non-academic).