Point of Contact for International students?

Hello All,

whom do you go to if you have questions about your current F-1 status? is there an advisor?

I am an international student but my school's international students office is totally unapproacchable and I really need answers to some questions. I don't know how to approach them. They make me feel like a piece of crap, despite paying more tuition as compared to residents!

Edited by nehs

you should reconsider attending a school that doesn't treat you well!

I totally agree but that's not my question because, I am mid way through my program and transferring out is not an option.

I would try talking to a professor you trust, someone in administration from your department, other international students if you know any, or any career counselors your school offers!

thank you so much.

i do not know students but i could talk to my professors and career counselors in the school.

You're very welcome. Also, I don't know what your department's administrative staff is like, but at my current school they are very friendly and helpful in the music department administration.

Oh hey, I just noticed you're at CUNY! I just got invited to interview there on February 18... I'm an international student too, so I guess I will keep that in mind about their crappy international student's office!!

You're very welcome. Also, I don't know what your department's administrative staff is like, but at my current school they are very friendly and helpful in the music department administration.

Oh hey, I just noticed you're at CUNY! I just got invited to interview there on February 18... I'm an international student too, so I guess I will keep that in mind about their crappy international student's office!!

Yes, my Dept staff are usually friendly and so is my graduate advisor.

Yes I'm at CUNY but NOT all the international staff members are this way. So don't be bothered and go for your interview.