Where to go for MA in Classical Archaeology?

greenmonk

Ok...so I want to get my PhD in Classical Archaeology. I'm thinking with my background and current situation, going for the terminal MA first would be the best way for me to get into a PhD program. Here's why...I graduated with my BA in Classics in 2000. Yes, that long ago! I went to the University of Arizona as an undergraduate. After I graduated, I moved to DC and worked for a couple years and ended up getting my Masters in Public Policy in 2005. Since then, I've come to the conclusion that I am only happy studying classical archaeology and teaching people about ancient cultures. It's been a long and hard road, but I just can't work in a field that doesn't make me smile every day. That's where going to grad school (again!) comes in.

I wouldn't be able to apply for three more years because of a three year commitment I made at work. That doesn't matter much anyways because I plan on taking the next three years to re-study Greek and Latin, plus take one year of German. It will take me three years to take that many classes. I'm lucky that here in DC I can always take accelerated Latin and Greek at Catholic University over the summers and take more intermediate classes during the regular semesters. I'll still be working full-time, so I'll only be able to take 1-2 classes a semester. At least that's my plan.

Since I've been out of the game so long, I'm curious as to what schools you guys feel are top notch with their Classical Archaeology programs. I'm obviously going to apply to Arizona, but I don't know what other programs might help me get into a PhD program.