Applied to 8, decide from 1st Response!

Biro

Hey guys,

I've applied to 8 schools for a PhD in EE. In early February I got a positive response from USC and for some reason this was my first choice in the first place for the location and strong program in Information Thoery.. Anyway, It's 5th of March now and I haven't received a response from 6 schools yet!! (Stanford kicked me in the !@#$!)..

Since I'm an international student and visa processing time is an issue, would you guys recommend confirming the offer by USC or do you recommend waiting longer? If you recommend waiting, till when would you consider a rational time before everthing is too late and I miss out on everything because of greed :)

Thanks

PS I think I have a good chance at UCLA but not Caltech or U-M

I would give about two more weeks because at some universities committees haven't even met yet. Then, if still not word, contact them by e-mail and tell them you are concerned with your visa application time (though some US embassies around the world are very aware of this and even offer an expedited process for grad students).

I would give about two more weeks because at some universities committees haven't even met yet. Then, if still not word, contact them by e-mail and tell them you are concerned with your visa application time (though some US embassies around the world are very aware of this and even offer an expedited process for grad students).

I second this; at the uni I got accepted into they basically do all the visa documentation for you and help get it and, as far as I know, the schools haven't begun to do any of this yet (it's still too soon) - since April is the usual deadline. There are LOTS of int'l students who will be going through the same thing, I don't think you should base your acceptance on the visa issue...