The finer details of funding offers

fuzzylogician

So I'm an international student and am worried that I'm missing important details when reading my funding offers.

- First off, what difference does is make if my stipend is payed over 9 months or over the entire year? What do ppl usually do if it's only over 9 months--do they get a job over the summer? save? What do foreign students do (since visa restrictions make work in the US more difficult)?

- Second, how do I know if my stipend is livable--that I'll be able to afford to rent a room/small apt and eat (not just Ramen), etc? More to the point, can a person live off 20-22K in the big cities (NYC, LA, Boston..)?

- Health insurance: I know it's a big issue in the US; is the insurance the university offers usually good enough?

- Other fees: what are those? If it's not mentioned in a certain package, am I to assume I'll be paying some undisclosed amount myself?

- Anything else I'm missing?

Thanks in advance!

So I'm an international student and am worried that I'm missing important details when reading my funding offers.

- First off, what difference does is make if my stipend is payed over 9 months or over the entire year? What do ppl usually do if it's only over 9 months--do they get a job over the summer? save? What do foreign students do (since visa restrictions make work in the US more difficult)?

- Second, how do I know if my stipend is livable--that I'll be able to afford to rent a room/small apt and eat (not just Ramen), etc? More to the point, can a person live off 20-22K in the big cities (NYC, LA, Boston..)?

- Health insurance: I know it's a big issue in the US; is the insurance the university offers usually good enough?

- Other fees: what are those? If it's not mentioned in a certain package, am I to assume I'll be paying some undisclosed amount myself?

- Anything else I'm missing?

Thanks in advance!