Chicago or American?

I have two programs to choose from at the moment, and I'm trying to get a head start on making the decision, since I only have about a month and a half. Any help would be appreciated!

First, some background: I'm a senior in an undergraduate institution, and so have no full-time work experience. This means I am less sure of exactly what I want to do as compared to people who have been out in the field for some time. I do know that I love anything international relations/development, that I love research and writing, and that I will most likely opt for a PhD program in the future. I like teaching, but I would also like to work.

I got into the Chicago CIR Program and American University's International Development Program (both MA). I have generous funding from both, and will only have to be pay living costs in both places. What should be some of things I should be considering?

Thanks in advance!

I do, however, want to work in the development field (at least straight out of masters, for a little while, and perhaps be a scholar-practitioner after the PhD). I was job searching this year, and many UN jobs asked for an IR/IDev/etc MA degree (as in, they were not specific about which kind for many positions). However, I have heard Chicago is not as good for a professional career. I don't know how true this is, given that many former students have posted on here that only about 8-10 of the class of 40-50 go on for PhDs, and the rest go into the job market. But how well do they do?

I agree. Chicago is hands down the better place for academia. Your chances of getting into a top PhD program will be higher after Chicago than after American.

However, Chicago is a one-year program so unless you're hoping to do a second year or want to take some time off, you'd need to apply to PhD programs soon after classes start. Getting letters of recommendation and stuff can be hard then, but I expect them to deal with this thing all the time.