Awful PhD Program Experience

I have spent the last 3 years working on my PhD in Clinical Research. In addition, I was awarded a grant which pays for my research costs, tuition and salary support for 3 years.

This PhD program is brand new. I knew there were going to be some "growing pains" but I didn't expect it to be a horror show. My mentor is also the Program Director for this program. I really thought this would be a great idea since she would know best on what I needed to do to complete this degree. I was WRONG. DEAD WRONG!

When I first started this program, I just began the preliminary studies of my research. I made sure that I wouldn't do anything without the approval of my mentor. Well, almost 3 years have passed and I am done collecting my data. However, I had to present my thesis proposal even though I was done with my research. I have been asking for the past 3 years when the qualifying exam and thesis proposal would be done. I was always told we don't have a plan yet but that I could continue my research. I made sure that I spoke with my mentor, co-director of the program and dissertation chair each step of the way with my research just in case something went wrong.

Well, 3 weeks ago I present my thesis proposal (even though my research is done!). The dissertation committee had a tremendous amount of changes and requested that I represent my thesis proposal. My mentor did nothing, she didn't even say anything. My chair (who helped me develop my survey tool) actually criticized it. I couldn't believe what I was hearing.

I reported the situation with the Dean. He obviously had no idea what was going on in the program. However, this didn't resolve any of my problems because I still have to do the changes the committee is asking for.