Am I Doing What I'm Supposed to Be Doing?

Lola Wants

I started TAing this semester for an introductory History course at a small liberal arts college. I'm in a MA program and this is my first time TAing. I attend the class twice a week and it's a small class, around 26 students. I am in charge of recording attendance and grades and keeping them on a spreadsheet. I taught once (only because the professor was ill) and I did okay. I've graded papers only once and when I did the professor told me that I did it perfectly but I haven't done any grading since. I give the professor articles and other information that I find relevant to the material being taught and they are given to the students and discussed in class. I feel like I should be doing more though. My school doesn't have separate discussion sections so I don't lead any discussion sections or hold office hours. Should I be doing more than this or is this it? I would love to hear some advice because I'm worried that I may not be pulling my weight.

I've TAed for almost two years now, and when I first started I felt the exact same way. Also, I was kind of anal about making sure that everything I did as a TA I did as perfectly as possible. I would go as far as recording entire precepts beforehand to make sure I worded everything in a clear and understandable way. This was in addition to grading, holding office hours and answering e-mails. I felt like I was spending far more time than my colleagues on TAing.