What do you do if rejected?

YosemiteTam

I have applied to four schools and have not heard anything back from any of them. They are not elite schools, but rather ones where I was excited about the program. But like a lot of people I feel like every day that I hear nothing, the more I lose hope. So now I'm trying to deal with the question: What do I do if I am rejected from all the schools?

I graduated from undergrad in 2005 and my GPA was not great. I think it was a mixture of being young, and not having great study skills. I wasn't a slacker, I worked hard for my crappy GPA. My GRE score was okay. In short, I don't test well. I had good letters of rec, and I worked hard on my essay. I do not have any undergraduate research because it was not a focus of the Geology undergrad program at UCLA. I have had some relevant work experience in my time off school, and have had some teaching experience as well.

Since I can't change my GPA or my lack of undergrad research, what can I do to make my application stronger next year? Give up teaching and try to go back to the corporate world? Try to take some courses, or a volunteer position in my field? Do I take a different approach with my essay? Would any of it matter, or is it just hard times for grad programs? Any advice would be helpful, this waiting game is rough.