Would appreciate comments on my SOP

Hi there,

I am planning to apply for a PhD in Economics and I have to, of course, hand in a short SOP.

The problem: I find it quite difficult to write about myself. I am somehow blocked, it just does not work that well.

Moreover, I don`t really know what they expect. Of course I read alot in this forum and elsewhere, but still ...

I attached the beginning of my kind of first draft of my SOP. I know that it is far from perfect! I would appreciate a lot of helpful comments (and probably even corrections of spelling, grammar and punctuation).

Does it go into the right direction or am I messing this up completely?

So here we go (just the beginning):

=============================================================================================

“If you have no other plans, you should become a professor in economics”, a professor once told me after having read my paper on XYZ that I wrote in his XYZ class.

I started studying economics because I wanted to know how economies work in detail. The questions that I had in mind before I began studying - at the time I had a rather vague idea about economics as an academic discipline - were questions that I would now, five years later, classify as typical macroeconomic issues. Why do economies grow? How does the international monetary system function? And what about business cycles?

Ironically, after the first semester of my Bachelor studies I knew exactly what I want to focus on: Micro- rather than Macroeconomics. As a result, I ended up taking as many micro and micro-related courses as possible and specialized in Microeconomics, Public Economics and Game Theory. The course programme I pursued during my Bachelor studies also equipped me with a wide range of quantitative skills in the areas of Mathematics, Statistics, Econometrics and Information Systems, to name just a few.