From clinical to I/O?

cherubie

For the past 3 years, my goal was to apply to a clinical psychology program, and thus undertook volunteering/work opportunities geared towards this field. However, recently, I've also been considering a career in I/O as well. It doesn't seem like there is as much graduate school admissions info. out there for I/O programs than there are clinical programs, so if anyone could help me out, that would be great!

First, some numbers/background:

GPA:

• Overall: 3.54 (pre-med in college) from a "big name" school
  • Last 2 years: 3.7
  • Cognitive Science major, psychology minor

GRE: 1500 on the unrevised exam, 800Q, 700V, 5.0 writing
    Research experience:
    in addition to brief stints as an undergrad, I've been working as a full-time research assistant in a cognitive neuroscience lab for 2 years, handling everything from subject recruitment to helping write papers, managing undergrads, training people, and a lot of data handling as well as statistics. I have my name on 2 publications & 2 conferences so far, none are first/second authors. I also expect to be a second author on some papers by next year.

In addition to this, I have also worked at 2 other labs in college (neurosciences & beh. modification), 1 publication not from my current lab (again, not first author or anything major), and hotline volunteering.

Now here's my question: My research has NOTHING to do with I/O. It's mostly physiology, a little social psychology (questionnaires), and genetics. However, because I'm the only RA for a relatively big lab, as mentioned earlier, I handle a lot of things, not just data-entry. I also am primarily in charge of taking in undergraduate students, interviewing them, training, and then managing them. This is the main part of my experience that I believe relates to I/O.

So my concerns are as follows:

• My research experience isn't in an I/O field
    • I have no business background