Some insight into getting into a PhD program

EllieOfAquitaine

Hello all,

I applied to five programs this fall/winter (a mix of MAs and PhD). My end goal is to be a curator (for the glory and wealth obviously :P). I have some strikes against me:

1. My UG degrees are in History and English with a minor in Biology

2. I have spent the last 3 years working in software development

3. I have had very little formal art history experience--all of my academic scholarship was in medieval history

Thus far I have gotten into U Chicago's MA for Humanities and Rutgers art history MA program. I was rejected from U Chicago, NYU and UW's PhD programs (I don't blame them in the slightest). I am waiting to hear back from Tufts and UW's museology program.

As PhDs are basically mandatory for any sort of curator work, I was wondering what the best course of action would be for me to take in regards to my school choices. I also realize I am at an extreme disadvantage as I do not have an UG degree in AH. While I know U Chicago has a great reputation, I am hesitant to go there as it is only a year. If I did go there, I would essentially be applying to schools again next fall and I am not sure a year at Chicago will make all that much of a difference for my application. (Or maybe it will?)

If I go to Rutgers, I'd be doing the standard masters. I am under the impression that Rutgers is not as highly ranked as U Chicago (am I wrong?)

I also had a question about museology programs in general. Would getting a masters in Museology help in gaining admittance to a PhD program? Financially, it's the cheapest option for me (assuming I get in). The program is great about getting people internships at local museums. I could also tailor my studies to be art history based.

Any guidance would be GREATLY appreciated :)