US citizen complete biomedical doctorate abroad?

movewest

A few years ago I left a top20 biomedical science PhD program in the US after two years of training. Most of the labs w/ funding in my research area left the school, so there were more students than available mentors. When I left, ¾ of the students in my research area did not have a lab at the end of our 2nd year. I also did not really like the area I was living in or the institution, so I decided to cut my losses and leave the program. I left before my prelim and I was so burnt out at the time I did not try to get a masters degree (would have had to find lab to fund me and stay there several months to write and defend it). I have several years of full-time lab experience before and after my time in graduate school.

Anyways, I am looking at my options to enroll in a biomedical doctoral program again. I have defined research interests now and I know what I need from a mentor and lab. Considering these things facts and my prior two years of graduate coursework, I am starting to think about potentially pursing the degree abroad. From my limited knowledge the European and Canadian systems in general have less course work and you have a lab at the time you matriculate into the program. Based on my background and experiences, I think that this system may be a better option for me, as I could almost immediately start working on my project. Hence, I would likely graduate faster.