Submitting to a Conference

paraplu

It's my first time out, and I'm curious how others amongst you have prefaced email submissions of your paper abstract and CV? Does a simple "Good day, Attached please find pieces x, y, and z for your consideration" do the trick? Thanks in advance for your feedback.

I would include something in the cover email that added a human touch and gave a brief hint of my strengths as a historian.

Yes, people are busy and yes they have to sort through a lot of paperwork. But they're still people and, IME, some people especially appreciate it when you connect to them as people.

My $0.02

I would include something in the cover email that added a human touch and gave a brief hint of my strengths as a historian.

Yes, people are busy and yes they have to sort through a lot of paperwork. But they're still people and, IME, some people especially appreciate it when you connect to them as people.

My $0.02

That's what the CV is for, right? I don't think anyone wants to hear about anything else I have to say that isn't included in the proposal or my CV. But that's just my opinion -- I've never had to sort through emails on the other end of this sort of thing. Though I have watched my advisor do it -- and felt sorry for her as she became more and more swamped by submissions. So I think it's usually best to just stick to the basics.

That's what the CV is for, right? I don't think anyone wants to hear about anything else I have to say that isn't included in the proposal or my CV. But that's just my opinion -- I've never had to sort through emails on the other end of this sort of thing. Though I have watched my advisor do it -- and felt sorry for her as she became more and more swamped by submissions. So I think it's usually best to just stick to the basics.

I understand your point.