Options with limited/non-existent geography background?

Jahiliyya

The topic title states my situation quite simply: I have virtually no background in geography, the environment, or science more broadly. I studied history for my undergrad degree, with a particular emphasis on the Middle East, and am now on a Fulbright in the region. For a number of reasons, I have been considering the possibility of undertaking a graduate degree in geography. It is the discipline that uses the tools and perspectives most closely matching the evolution of my research interests, while offering the development of skills that would keep non-academic career options open (rather different than taking the pathway of history).

I have a superb undergraduate record, and field research experience under my belt. If my interests had continued in their original trajectory from undergrad, I would be in great shape for graduate school in history or perhaps public policy. But I have zero preparation for geography, nor do I have any professors or mentors who are acquainted with the field who would be capable of giving suggestions.

So, what is the path forward? Applying for a terminal MA? Would I even have a chance at that, if I could write a persuasive statement about how my career/research interests have changed?

Jahilyya, your options are far from limited. A large portion, possibly even the majority of academic geographers come from other fields. History is closely tied with geography (it has its own sub-field), and your experience abroad will surely be helpful. You will likely have to take some undergrad courses to catch up on the basics, but that should be expected when switching fields in any discipline.

What area of geography would you like to study? I can try to help point you in the right direction. Starting with an MA might be a good idea, but it is by no means necessary or terminal.