columbia anthro

this-sucks

hey anthcat - a combination of factors drew me to columbia. resonances with a number of faculty who are trained anthropologists and those trained in other disciplines but teaching in the anthro department . faculty in departments outside of anthro (mealac, english, comp lit, phil), as well as student interests/research. importantly, i also love nyc. how about you?

Yeah, I'm not holding my breath over it.

For me NYC is important not just because I've always wanted to live there (for a while, at least), but because my research interests make a big metropolis the ideal place to do incidental research. The other reason I applied to Columbia is because of the faculty who work in Asia.

Good luck to all the Columbia Anthro applicants. Although I am not in the anthro department, I am a current Columbia grad student (and applicant). I can tell you that it is an exciting place to be right now. Over the past decade, they have amassed a fine group of scholars under the direction of Nick Dirks. From my understanding, things were pretty dismal in the early nineties. What are your sub-fields/areas of interest?

• 2 weeks later...

Any updates? I've applied to socio-cul. I wrote to a faculty member recently and he said he was impressed with my application but that it was a tough year with shrinking positions so it was all up in the air. I don't want to lose hope but I'd like my life back.

hey there - i know they've notified some students via phone calls, but i'm not sure if that's just the students who have direct contacts in the department. if i were you, i'd go with what the prof you emailed said. if he didn't mention anything about a rejection, they're probably still deliberating over some students. i'm sure if they had decided, he would have told you more. good luck!