Organizing Notes and Research

unforth

I went hunting through some of the old threads to see if there was one on this, and I didn't see one in the last 6 months, so sorry if this is repetitious but...

I was wondering what strategies people used to organize and keep track of their research notes, books, articles and all that jazz. I'm particularly interested in websites and programs. I know a few people have mentioned things they use - I saw someone mention Endnote, and someone else Evernote. Do people use technological methods? Or flash cards? Or notebooks? What works for people?

Here's what I've tried in the past:

1. Notebooks. When I was an undergrad I would keep notes in a notebook, sorted by which book the notes were from. This was always problematic; it would get clunky quickly, took a lot of time to handwrite, and once I'd read 10 or 15 books it would get increasingly hard to find what was where. Furthermore, it was organizationally static - I had no way of reorganizing the notes thematically or chronologically or anything, I was bound by my book organization. I don't want to continue to use this method in to the future.

2. OneNote. I've used OneNote, a microsoft program that comes with Word and Excel and PP and such. It has some flexibility, but again, I've found it static. Also, without extensive planning ahead of time, I've found it hard to keep things straight and figure out effective ways to organize things. And since there's no way to tag or otherwise mark things, it's hard to pull out specifics. On the other hand, it's very easy to move data around, which is handy.

3. Scrivener (<a href="http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener.php">here</a>). A friend of mine clued me in to this, she uses it for fiction writing. Trying it is going to be my next step, I think it's going to have a LOT of flexibility. I'll speak up when I've gotten a better sense of how effective it'll be.

So, what do other folks use? How do you feel about its effectiveness?