How much 'doubt' is normal? Advice, please :-/

bjlowe

I was admitted to the NYU SCPS Masters program in Global Affairs. I graduated from UW Madison two years ago with a BA in International Studies/Political Science. After two years of work, I haven't been thrilled with either of the two jobs I had. I had always thought of going to grad school and made the decision to apply after realizing that I may not get a job that I will be satisfied with unless I continue to grad school and find a job that I worked hard for and that I really care about. (As an IS major it is difficult to find something in this field without a grad degree, or so it seems.)

Now, after I'm signing up for classes and reading through articles on JSTOR in preparation for my program I am starting to have a lot of anxiety about whether or not I am making the right decision. I'm currently teaching abroad but don't want to continue this so my options now are pursue a grad degree or go home and start job searching for a job that I will be settling for. The thought of going back to school scares me a little, and the cost of tuition scares me even more-especially when I think about the current job market. This could be a severe case of 'fear of failure.'

I guess what I want to know is this- How many of you are doubting your readiness or your decision for grad school? How many grad students were worried about their decisions to attend when they enrolled, and how do you feel now that you are in school? What level of stress/anxiety/self-doubt is normal when we are taking this life-changing step?

Some days I am perfectly confident that I am making the right decision to move to New York and pursue what I have always held to be my 'dream.' And other days I feel like I would be perfectly happy furnishing a home/apartment back home finding a job and settling down and paying off the (comparatively) little debt that I currently have.

Any input/personal stories would be greatly appreciated!