MSW admission without experience?

Teen

HI everyone-

I am a professional working full-time in an unrelated field. Have spent a lot of time soul-searching in the past 2 years and have finally arrived at the conclusion that social work is where I want to be. I volunteered with an inner-city school program throughout my undergrad (finished in 2010) and have a ton of other leadership experience running student organizations but other than that do not have any relevant SW experience.

Has anyone who has just gone through the application process been successful with very little experience? I would love to hear from you.

I am currently interviewing for volunteer positions but this will be limited by full-time work, my grades are good (4.0) and my references should be fine but I would like to get an idea of where I stand.

Thanks!

I am looking to apply for MSW programs, but I also happen to be an undergrad working part time in a SSW admissions office, so I feel like I can somewhat accurately answer this question. There are some people who do get in with little experience. The ones that have little experience are still a lot better than those who have none. In your case, it might be best to discuss your leadership experience and your volunteer work a lot in your personal statement. Even though you say that your leadership positions and other work are not directly related to social work, it is still helpful to talk about if it requires skills that would be good for a social worker to have (and leadership looks good no matter what type of program you apply to). Experience is very important, but that isn't all that counts. It is great that you have a solid GPA, and references help, especially if they again demonstrate skills that would be helpful for a social worker.