UCONN and Southern CT State University

I am trying to apply to schools in CT and am especially leaning toward UCONN. But does anyone know anything about either of these schools that is not on the website? Anyone applied, visited, etc. that could tell me about them?

Also, are there any websites for graduate schools where students rate them? I know for undergrad there is studentsreview.com where they leave comments, but the grad school parts are really limited.

I got my BSW from Southern. I had some great professors and got some good mentoring--but I was an extremely dedicated student, so I kind of had to fight for it in that respect. I know nothing firsthand about UCONN. SCSU is actually pretty selective for their master's program--I think this is due to the size of the program, but out of the 5 grad schools I applied to, SCSU was the last to offer their acceptance (this includes some more "reputable" programs, including Columbia and NYU---in quotes because I don't feel names mean as much in social work programs). I also did not get an immediate offer for grants, but don't know what was typical at the time or now. New Haven has a good amount of quality fieldwork opportunities depending on the area you are interested in (clinical vs. macro).

• 1 month later...

I am also leaning towards being in CT. I've only looked at UConn, and don't know much about Southern, but I loved my visit to UConn. I was impressed by their community organizing track, and their macro focus. They introduced me to their field directors, a professor, and some phD students we ran into. The field directors were very enthusiastic and it seemed like there is quite a bit of flexibility to choose your field placement.

I would recommend visiting and see how it would fit your needs. If you are interested in a macro program at all, I think you'll be impressed by the program. Otherwise, I know a lot less about it =/

• 8 months later...

Hi there,