Biostats programs

beandog95

Hello,

I do not know where to apply for biostats programs. I feel like there are either really good programs or really crappy ones. not a whole lot of middle ground.

I am majoring in math with a GPA is 3.36 (crappy GPA, I know) at a small private school. I am taking the GRE soon.. I do have a lot of great summer experiences. SIBS at UW Madison and interning at a Cancer Research Institute this summer- I am paired with a biostatistician working on her research team. I have gone to a lot of conferences too and presented posters. I believe that I will have pretty good letters of recommendation and I have been working on my personal statement. I also know C++, R, SAS, Minitab, and Maple.

I am assuming that my chances for a phd program are minimal so I am going to pursue a MS at:

1. UW Madison

2. CU Denver

3. University of Minnesota

4. UNC

5. University of Michigan

First, question: Is my assumption that a phd program is out of my reach true?

Second: For MS programs: Am I aiming too high? If so, what schools should I be looking at?

Thank you so much for your input!

I think you might be selling yourself short. Yes, your GPA is going to be below average for the top PhD programs, but it sounds like you have good research experience and better than average math preparation given that you're a math major. Is your GPA in just math/statistics prerequisite courses higher than your overall GPA, or maybe you have an upward trend in grades? Does the small private school you attend have a good academic reputation? Maybe you should apply to a mix of master's and PhD programs, and indicate on your applications when possible that you'd like to be considered for a master's if denied for the PhD. I'm no expert but your list of places for a master's sounds reasonable enough. Have you asked the faculty at your undergrad institution or any of the other biostatisticians you've worked with for advice on where to apply?