what are the differences between MS and PhD career wise for engineering?

child of 2

At this point, I'm striving for working in R&D at a manufacturing company. I don't think I'm driven enough to go into academia. If I can get the same positions in industry with a masters as I can with a PhD, then I'll just do a masters and finish school. In addition, there is also the issue of over qualification for phd's.

on the other hand, I have heard mixed opinions on getting a phd that oscillate between 'rewarding experience' and 'waste of time'.

Not an engineer but I work in tech recruiting. The annoying answer is that it just depends. PhDs in industry are most useful in research-focused positions in specialized sciencey areas of engineering, like optics or chemicals. For most R&D positions, a master's is helpful but anything beyond that isn't a big difference (especially compared to a few more years of industry work experience). Conversely, it could make some employers wary of you, sometimes they assume that someone with a PhD will be dissatisfied without a very high-level position or without working strictly in their specialty. For a few very specialized positions a PhD is preferred and very rarely is it required. You may not make any more money with a PhD, but you may get more interesting projects if you really like the niche areas. Having a narrow specialty can also help you build a consulting career, if that's something you'd like to do eventually (rather than stay at one company). Since your field is chemical engineering, I definitely wouldn't call it a total waste of time, but not necessary either.