Advice on Mid-life Grad School for Career Change

OldBifocalGuy

I'm new to this forum and looking for advice, insight and opinions from those who may have already done what I'm contemplating: going to grad school (Masters/PhD/MD/DVM) in order to make an major career change while having a family with working spouse and children. I've been working (successfully) for 20 years and hold a masters now, but my field has lost much of its interest for me over time. I'm thus considering switching gears pretty dramatically and entering a field that is technical and/or "hard" science oriented (I'm a social scientist now). Most of the fields in which I'm interested would require at least a few years of additional education/training. Your thoughts and insights are very much appreciated. Thanks!

Hi there!

I think it's always fantastic to see someone go back to school and have the passion for learning and change. I think professional who return to school have a real advantage in some areas - such as time management, organization, presenting, even writing concisely. I am sure you know that working a regular job can be a lot different than the demands of graduate school. So I think anyone's first step towards this choice, is to ask themselves some questions and really contemplate about where they want to go.