Unsure of what tier school I should go for?

chemist_689

I am currently a senior undergrad at Idaho State (will graduate in May 2013) with a BA in chemistry. My goal is to go to a chemistry graduate school for a PhD in analytical chem. I started doing research the summer after my freshman year and have been doing that non-stop since with three poster presentations and two publications to major journals with my work, however my GPA is not very good. as of right now its a 2.98 (has been going upwards after sophomore year).

I know that my GPA will hold me back some but I also know that I have good research experience and that I can get 3 strong letters from professors here. I just don't really know how much my GPA is going to hold me back from a lot of schools and how small of schools I should be looking at? any help is appreciated. Thanks

One problem that you will run into, is that a number of schools have a minimum cutoff of 3.0 that isn't decided by the departments, but the schools as a whole. And getting around that cuttoff ranges from simply very difficult to impossible, depending on the school.

Almost any GPA above the cutoff with the rest of your background shouldn't be nearly as much of a problem- research experience and your LoRs are what really matter. It's like a step function. The difference between a 2.98 and a 3.02 can be huge. You also are going into a pretty competitive area (Analytical) with far fewer programs offering Analytical PhDs than any others, but still a large number of applicants.

Thank you for the reply,

I have also seen this 3.0 cut-off at a few of the schools that I have researched.

Because applications are generally due December-January my GPA will be under the 3.0 but I should be able to get it above that by graduation. will this have any effect at all or does only my GPA at the time of the application due date matter?