PhD Psychology... do I have a chance?

turtle_shell

I'm currently a Peace Corps Volunteer in the Middle East, teaching English. Being here has made me pique my interest in graduate school. I haven't yet narrowed down my interests but I'm thinking about something in the field of social psych, cultural psych or educational psych. I'm very interested in cross-cultural issues in psychology and would like contribute to this research field.

I graduated 4 years ago, my undergrad GPA was 3.72 and I majored in psychology and political science. I haven't taken the GRE yet but my practice scores are around 1300 combined for verbal and quantitative and I'm continuing to study for it here. My transcript and extra-curricular activities can reflect an interest in social or ed psych as well as cross-cultural activities.

What I'm worried about is my weak background in math and research. I have a year of statistics and the intro course to research methods but that's about it. I worked as a 'research' assistant for a psychiatrist with his research projects but it was mostly just data entry and conducting clinical interviews. As sort of a bonus, he gave me course credit for research in the bio dept for one quarter although i worked him for a year. But I don't have anything like an undergrad thesis or even upper div statistics or advanced research methods. During undergrad I had planned into going into clinical psych rather than research psychology so I never made research a focus in my studies.

I have a lot of 'real-world' multi-cultural experience from studying abroad, working with delinquent youth through AmeriCorps and now being in the Peace Corps but is any of that valuable in the research world?