post grad stress: second bachelor's degree or master's

flower!

I am in desperate need of advice and any information, words of encouragement/discouragement, would be very welcome. I've spoken with several professors, mentors, academic advisors, admissions counselors about my unusual situation, but I remain very confused.

I previously created a post that addressed issues encountered while switching from a BFA in studio art to an MA in art history.

I graduated with a BFA in 2010 from the Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA), and then completed curatorial and editorial internships at a Smithsonian art museum, MoMA, an academic press, a prominent art magazine, an established non-profit in New York, and a well known commercial gallery in New York. Through these experiences, I decided to pursue graduate studies in art history rather than studio. However, I was rejected from Hunter, NYU, Columbia, and Williams, which, in retrospect, is not surprising.

I made the decision to enroll at Columbia as a post-bac in order to strengthen my transcripts. (I have 126 credits in art or art history from MICA, and, at the end of this year, I will have 36 credits in art history from Columbia and 16 credits in German from Columbia)

I'm worried that if I complete an MA, I'll be rejected from PhD programs and unable to find a job. Perhaps it would be better to pursue a second bachelor's from a good school with a major in art history and then apply directly to MA/PhD programs.

Another reason that I'm considering a second bachelor's degree is because I've been having second thoughts about studying contemporary art in America. I'm hoping to focus on the historical avant-garde in Europe and I feel that I need a stronger understanding of European history, German language, etc.