OGS 2013-14 Application Process

buffyslayergal

Does anyone have any information on the revised application process for OGS 2013-14? I've heard the competitions will now be run through individual universities, but there doesn't seem to be much information beyond that.

Will institutions be given guidelines/restrictions with regards to granting awards (e.g. will they have to give a certain percentage to each faculty/discipline)?

Do individual odds for winning an OGS go up or down with this new system?

And will there still be an opportunity for students heading into 5th year PhD to apply, should they meet the eligibility criteria? (I've heard rumours that 5th year OGS awards will be eliminated.)

Any information/rumours would be greatly appreciated! Bearing in mind, of course, that these things might vary now by institution.

This is my first time applying to OGS and yes, I have to do so through my university. My university had a minimum GPA requirement of 10, which is somewhat different from the A- OGS requirement. In fact, I was mistakenly told I was not eligible, but recently found out that I am in fact eligible (what a stressful week that was).

The OGS forms just became available last week through my university.

I am not sure how this will impact success rates. Does this mean, similar to NSERC, your application must be recommended by your faculty to OGS, or will all applications be forwarded to OGS?

What were previous success rates for OGS? I am optimistic, but who knows.

You might want to look into funding workshops at your university - they're often held around this time of year. The people running the workshop should go through everything step by step and answer any questions (at least in my experience).

I'm not sure how this new system would impact success rates but I know that the 2012/13 success rate was much lower than previous years (~50% down to ~25%) because of decreased funding available. Tough econ times!