Grad school vs. Undergrad

phonology_rocks

I know as an undergraduate student, I would have loved to have read a thread about people talking about the change between graduate school linguistics and undergraduate programs...so I thought I would list what I think the main differences are....and maybe others can add their thoughts...

I'm in an MA program, with partial funding currently (meaning I am getting all my tuition paid for but not getting much of a stipend but that will change :)

* the quantity of work right from the start was a lot more

* I am way way way busier....

* all of my classmates are really hard workers, and in undergrad that was not the case....

* I find you get less guidance in class (like in undergrad if I had to read an article I knew what I was suppose to get from the reading)

* you get to do some enjoyable research!! (I only got one real experience as an undergraduate)

*based on my experience professors value your input more....

* its not just about school....I've been so lucky twice with getting funding...but I worked really hard for the opportunity I got and the one I will get, talking professors, showing interest, volunteering for things etc.

* you have less of a social life (I was a varsity athlete as an undergraduate so its not like I was partying much, but I still had more time to like hang out and relax than i've had so far here)

Grad school for me is a change, but in a good way.....i like school so much better already then I did as an undergraduate because its more interesting.....anyways I would be interested to read posts from those in Phd programs as well!

I'm in a PhD program (full funding through TAship). Here's what I've observed so far.

• The quantity of work is a lot more, but for me that is mostly coming from lab work and reading papers. My program emphasizes that yeah, you need to do well in your classes, but it's really the lab that's the most important thing