What is comparative politicis?

Hi! As you can clearly see i am a noob in the poli sci area. I am an economics undergrad planning to do grad study in political science. I was looking through various online resources but still could not be absolutely clear on what comparative politics means. Accrording to wikipedia "Comparative politics is a subfield of political science, characterized by an empirical approach based on the comparative method. Arend Lijphart argues that comparative politics does not have a substantive focus in itself, but rather a methodological one: it focuses on "the how but does not specify the what of the analysis."" So would it be correct to say that it is like quantitative methods? But folks in this forum have mentioned those two as being separate entities. Some help would be really appreciated.

So would it be correct to say that it is like quantitative methods?

No, it definitely wouldn't. While there is of course a lot of large-n studies in comp politics, research is also very often of a more qualitative nature.

If there is any kind of quasi-consensus about an approach to comparative politics, it's that if you want to be hired, you will have to go out and do some kind of field work. I found this thread on the topic quite entertaining: http://www.poliscijobrumors.com/topic.php?id=8309

Wow the OP should really reconsider if he/she wants to spend the next 5/6 years of her life studying something he/she knows NOTHING about.

thats the point of this thread...im trying to figure out what all the stuff means and how they match my interest...i KNOW my interest therez no confusion bout that ... im just trying to figure what what matches my interest best...and since im only applying next year, i have plenty of time to do that :)