Applying earlier to grad school to stay on health insurance?

Eternal Icicle

I graduated with a B.A. in 2012, and my plan was to work in & around my intended field for 4-ish years before going to grad school for a Masters.

My mom brought up the whole health insurance on her plan until I'm 26 thing, and I'm wondering if I should cut the time between undergrad and grad shorter to take advantage of this. I know most institutions offer some sort of health insurance you can buy into, but that just seems like one more expense on top of graduate school expenses. I have a pre-existing condition, and worry about going without health insurance or paying higher rates (especially if Obamacare gets over-turned).

Is a health insurance timeline a reasonable thing to consider when making graduate school decisions? I know plenty of people go straight (or nearly so) into graduate school, but I wanted this buffer of real world experience in order to bring practical knowledge into my academic pursuits.

While the health insurance is certainly a valid concern, I don't think anything should rush you into grad school. It's definitely something you want to be ready for, because it's a lot of work and you need to be in the right place mentally. That being said, maybe you'll find you don't need the full four years you planned? Or, can you find a job during that four years that provides health insurance? I think the latter would be your best bet (and generally company insurance policies won't exclude coverage because you have a preexisting condition).