First Year M.A. in Ph.D Track at Penn State, Ask Me Almost Anything

I recall there not being a ton of current grad students on the forum (gradcafe alums, so to speak) when I was active last fall, and I pledged to at least do an open thread for questions if I got in.

I'm studying 20th-century/Contemporary American Literature and Film. I teach a freshmen Composition & Rhetoric course as well.

Feel free to ask if you have any questions whether it's about the application process or graduate school itself.

Good luck to the incoming '13 cohort.

Hello Galoup11,

I am a current MA in English student (with similar research interests as your own). I am interested in Penn State, but have heard that they do not like to accept many students who already have their MA. Do you know how many students with an MA they tend to accept into the PhD program? Thanks for your help! I appreciate that you started this thread!

I recall there not being a ton of current grad students on the forum (gradcafe alums, so to speak) when I was active last fall, and I pledged to at least do an open thread for questions if I got in.

I'm studying 20th-century/Contemporary American Literature and Film. I teach a freshmen Composition & Rhetoric course as well.

Feel free to ask if you have any questions whether it's about the application process or graduate school itself.

Good luck to the incoming '13 cohort.

If you had to do it all over again, what would you do differently?

Hello Galoup11,

I am a current MA in English student (with similar research interests as your own). I am interested in Penn State, but have heard that they do not like to accept many students who already have their MA. Do you know how many students with an MA they tend to accept into the PhD program? Thanks for your help! I appreciate that you started this thread!