Lab Rotations and Funding

sciencenerd123

Little bit of background:

I am currently a first-year student in a Ph.D. program for biomedical sciences (on the West Coast). We are all being paid a stipend from the university until we find a permanent lab (no TA-ing necessary). We were told at the beginning of the semester that the university would pay for us in case there were funding issues (funding dropped in middle of degree, etc.), or they would somehow find a way to keep us funded.

Issue:

There are multiple departments in this program. My interests lie specifically in one department that I'm already temporarily under. However, there is a huge issue with funding in the labs of this department, and therefore only 2 or 3 labs can take students at all. There are 10+ students competing for these spots. When a student expressed concerns over the lack of funding, they were told to basically suck it up and find some other interests to do a Ph.D. in. We have offered to help with grants or do whatever else was necessary to get funding, but apparently that can't work in certain situations. Some professors are reluctant to even let students rotate in their labs.

The coursework for this department is rigorous, and only a handful of the 10+ people competing are actually taking the classes needed for this department (yet no preference is given to anyone already under it). Any advice from more experienced grad students? Should we suck it up and find something else to work on for the next 4+ years? Or should we try to fix this situation now so it won't happen to incoming students in the future?

Just out of curiosity, how would you see yourself trying to fix the situation? I'm not seeing anything you could do that would "fix" things.