A late bloomer's chances of the graduate dream?

starrylanterns

I'm a long time lurker and first time poster, please be gentle :3

I read the "What are my chances?" post, and I'm hoping this post won't fall into that category... I do hope to get feedback, and I'm also hoping my worries and situation will help other people out there applying to grad school who are in the same boat. I currently am in my final year of university (5th year) at SDSU in San Diego, and want to apply to graduate school.

I did poorly in high school due to family problems, and attended community college and transferred to SDSU in two years. Majored in Studio Art, spent one year at State, took on Asian Studies (Chinese Language) as a second major to study mandarin and spent my 4th year in Singapore taking classes learning mandarin and studying China's modern history/politics/foreign policy at NTU. I'm in my last year now back in the US at SDSU, and literally just solidified what I want to do, which is to study China's political movements and its relation to the US and SEA, hopefully in analytical positions with the government or research in academia.