"Scholarly" Book Publishing-- Is the PhD Necessary?

incognegra

Hello all,

I graduated with academic distinction from one of the most highly-ranked liberal arts colleges where I studied Sociology with an emphasis on cultural sociology, theory, and black cultural studies. I also participated in a fellowship program for students preparing for careers in academe, though I realized prior to my final year that I needed to take a break from the academic world to reassess. After graduation, I found myself in the field of academic administration and am now pursuing a professional degree (MSW) that will enable me to work in college mental health counseling and psychotherapy.

Though I am very glad that I took this break to re-evaluate my priorities and develop a marketable skill set, I have a strong desire to write books of a scholarly nature concerning today's prevailing educational discourse and related visions of Black uplift from an anarchist perspective. However, I am wondering whether I can really "have my cake and eat it, too" and am curious about how I will fare in today's publishing market without the PhD.