Please review my SOP for a PhD in Statistics

Any feedback is appreciated.  Thank you for your time!

Why do I want to pursue a career in statistics?  I love the diversity of backgrounds that one can encounter as a statistician.  I love to work with other creative, passionate individuals and find myself excited to contribute to their research and help them understand their data.  I am eager to expand on my ability to extract useful information out of complicated data sets.  As I learn more about statistics, my interests will transform and graduate school will transform me.    

I enjoy thinking of different variables to come up with potential root causes of problems.  In my previous life, I was a physicist working at xxx.  My role at xx was to design, define test plans, and troubleshoot radiation detectors.  Radiation detection is a probabilistic process, and I relied on the Poisson distribution to help quantify low level radiation measurements.  My most enjoyable experiences at xxxx were brainstorming potential failure modes when problems occurred with detectors.   On one such problem I worked with a statistician who came up with a counterintuitive idea as part of a factorial design.  This idea resulted in a 10% improvement in output over the other, more conventional, configurations.  This spring I will be working on a project to expand that idea over a broader range of products and come up with a general rule for all sizes of detectors.