Any human factors applicants out there?

RubyBright

I haven't seen anyone else applying to human factors programs. Feeling a bit lonesome here. Anyone else? I'm jealous of the clinical people who are already starting to hear things back.

Ahhhh! Sorry, I'm excited to know that I'm not alone. :)

I was looking over the GradCafe results for the schools I applied to, and going back to 2006, only two people posted about the human factors program at my top choice school. I feel like I have very little information to work off of regarding when to expect to hear from the departments.

I am currently a cog sci certificate student but I'm applying this fall for Human Factors...even though it is a well known program at my school, it is definitely not as popular as I/O or Clinical. 

Edited by gnomechomsky22

• 3 weeks later...

I haven't heard anything yet, but I'm only applying for MA/MS Programs. I just got an email back from Texas Tech saying that their Experimental Psych Search Committee is in the process of evaluating and making offers. I'm stressed beyond belief. Haha. 

• 3 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

I'm planning on going into human factors! I'm really hoping to get into NCSU, but im also planning on applying to Clemson and VT. The only problem I'm having is deciding whether to get my phd and go into academia or my masters and go into the private sector. Any opinions on this? Anyone who has been through it?

Hi, mtjamieson! Welcome to our (very little) corner. If you're looking at east coast schools, you may find that many of the schools only do combined master's-PhD programs. Don't be scared off from that - you can definitely still go into industry with a PhD. Plus, you're a lot more likely to find funding in a PhD program than in a master's program. If you do see a school that supposedly offers a terminal master's, do some digging and find out if the program is actually active. 

• 4 weeks later...