Is is OK to contact grad students already in a program and ask them what the interview is like?

alkaline262

I have an interview for the PhD Biology program in two weeks at Marquette University in Wisconsin. I am considering contacting current graduate students at the program and ask them what the interview is like. Is this unreasonable? This is my interview, and I am very concerned.  

I've had overwhelmingly positive interactions with every single graduate student that I've reached out to. They've helped me identify POIs. They've given me info like, "this person is really busy. hard to get to," "this person is retiring," "consider this person or this person has a TON of advisees." We've discussed my projects and they've given me opportunities to look into. One grad student that I contacted over the summer ended up being really fantastic and we ended up submitting on a panel together and it was just approved! I have to believe that most people want to see others succeed and are willing to share resources and information.

Of course it is OK. But you will be cold calling them (I realize that expression has less meaning now that we do everything by e-mail), so don't expect folks to get back to you right away or at all. I'd find three or four students that are working in what you want to do or with a prof you are considering as an advisor. Write a polite e-mail, explaining who you are and what you are contacting them about in the first couple sentences. If you write a short question, they will feel like they can write a shorter reply and be more likely to respond. But really, most "interviews" are hardly that, you just talk a little about what excites you and what the profs do. Pretty casual, just don't pretend to know more or less than you do and ask lots of questions. As long as you come off as inquisitive and a not horrible person to work with, you'll be fine.

Edited by Usmivka

Congrats on the interview!