Dealing, psychologically, with the debt

TulipOHare

How much is it getting to you? How do you deal with it, or how do you plan to deal with it? Not looking for any specific advice, just wondering what other people's experiences are.

I graduated with $26k in student debt and I've got about $19k left. Depending on where I go and whether I get any scholarships or assistantships, the amount of debt I have will increase by anywhere from $10k to $150k. And I constantly go back and forth between panicking ("oh god no way can I handle any more debt!") and shrugging ("who cares, I'm gonna be up to my neck for the rest of my life one way or another").

How much is it getting to you? How do you deal with it, or how do you plan to deal with it? Not looking for any specific advice, just wondering what other people's experiences are.

I graduated with $26k in student debt and I've got about $19k left. Depending on where I go and whether I get any scholarships or assistantships, the amount of debt I have will increase by anywhere from $10k to $150k. And I constantly go back and forth between panicking ("oh god no way can I handle any more debt!") and shrugging ("who cares, I'm gonna be up to my neck for the rest of my life one way or another").

You aren't the only one who gets burdened down psychologically by debt. Compared to some people I know, I graduated with a relatively low debt burden but it still bothered me. So I spent most of my income paying it down against the advice of others. And I made sure when applying to schools this round, that I would only apply to those who would in all likelihood fund me, and in the best case do so in addition to giving me some sort of stipend. That way I would not have to worry about a horrendous amount of debt coming out and could focus on finding a job I really liked.