Can publications, solid recommendations, etc. bypass a "low" GPA for the top schools?

orthostice

Hey all, I'm an undergrad at a decent public school (probably a top 10 public school, but higher when it comes to engineering/science). I'm a chemistry major with a physics minor, and I plan to apply to grad schools in materials science & engineering (one reason I'm taking lots of physics/math is to strengthen my background for that). I will have at least 2 publications by the time I apply to graduate school (one 2nd author, one 1st author and possibly a 3rd author) and solid letters of recommendation from professors I did research with (during the school year + summer REUs), as well as good GRE scores. 

My biggest worry is my GPA. I will have a 3.6-3.7 GPA when applying to grad schools, which I've heard is on the low end for the top schools (Berkeley, Stanford, UCSB, Cornell, MIT, Northwestern) that I would really like to go to. Do I still have a shot at the top schools or should I also include some sort of safety school? Thanks! 

SOP=personal statement or statement of purpose.

you seem to have a sort at those schools however you should still apply to other schools ' safety schools'. I applied to some of the same schoosl you listed and had the same credentials and got in at Duke. I got rejected from Harvard and later learn that it is nearly impossible to get into those schools unless you have somebody from that school write you a letter of recommendation.

Don't think that you GPA is "low". Well, is not the best but it is ok and will not draw you back. It will all come to wether your SOP and Recomendation Letter are good enough and whether there is a match in your interests with a professor (who has currently enough founding for one more student).

Are you applying for a MS or PhD? If PhD, you want to look at places that are doing research in what you are interested in doing. If Stanford has no one doing research in XYZ, then don't apply.