Fellowships "Endorsement" Question... (confused/mildly frustrated)

sprezzatura

Hello! This is my first post on GradCafe, although I've been lurking about for a long time.

My question is as much a request for advice as anything else. I am writing to ask what to do if the Fellowships Adviser at one's UG institution will not approve or endorse applications to programs that he does not feel will be successful.

The story: I graduated in 2011 from a small liberal arts school that is ranked in the top 20 according to US News. The person in the post of Fellowships Adviser at my school is very successful in his job and boasts his high success rate (somewhere in the 90s) with obtaining the fellowships for which his students apply.

The difficulty is that he only allows applications that he feels certain will succeed, and refuses to approve any others. Our college is adept at getting Fulbrights, but we have never had a Rhodes, Marshall, and so on.