RPI versus Colorado in engineering?

TeaGirl

So I'm going back and forth between these two programs and leaning a little toward RPI. Since I'm unable to visit either at the moment, I'm hoping for a little advice :) 

Does anyone have any experience with their engineering programs, reputation, ease of finding non-academic work after graduation, etc? Or even just general info about the schools.

Also any info about living in Troy or Boulder would be appreciated!

I've studied at Colorado School of Mines for 1 semester during my undergrad and I also visited Boulder. What I know for sure is that CSM has a great reputation in the Oil&Gas and petrochemicals industries, and they are strong in petroleum and chemical engineering. For you as a mechanical engineer, I've heard that they are good in materials science too. I can't really judge the academic side the University of Colorado at Boulder, but generally I have the impression that they have a good mechanical engineering department. 

Btw, CSM is located in small town which is about 20 minutes by car from denver. Boulder has a variety of places for college students, it has lots restaurants, a nice downtown ...etc. One more thing, one of the good things about living in Colorado is the cost of living. We rented a house (me and 2 of my friends) with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, living room, backyard, and 1 bath for $1300/month + it was 3 blocks away from CSM, and I believe Boulder won't be more expensive than these rates. 

Edited by khaled

Btw, CSM is located in small town which is about 20 minutes by car from denver. Boulder has a variety of places for college students, it has lots restaurants, a nice downtown ...etc. One more thing, one of the good things about living in Colorado is the cost of living. We rented a house (me and 2 of my friends) with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, living room, backyard, and 1 bath for $1300/month + it was 3 blocks away from CSM, and I believe Boulder won't be more expensive than these rates.