German Studies 2013

uromastyx

Greetings!

So who has applied to programs in German Studies? Where all my pepes be at? Don't be shy! Let's introduce ourselves, ask questions, discuss programs. And, of course, let's chat about notifications, decisions, and general loss of sanity.

Me:

American. Master's degree in German Studies, seeking the PhD. I applied last year and was rejected by every school (10 total). This is round 2. This year I applied to 16 programs total (including one in film). I went a bit overboard due to the current climate and being totally unsure of myself after last year. I'm still (anxiously) waiting to hear from most.

Interests:

Austrian literature (Schnitzler); fin-de-siecle Vienna; psychoanalysis; contemporary Austrian cinema; (gendered) shame; representations of violence

Finally! Someone else! I've been browsing this for months with no luck.

I have a BA in Philosophy from RIT (specialization in German philosophy), minor in German, and I studied abroad in Marburg last summer. My main interests are in Marxism/critical theory, Heidegger, and the Vergangenheitsbewältigung literary movement. I'm still fleshing out my specific literary interests. Otherwise, I'm really into feminist theory, existentialist literature, and aesthetics.

I applied to 10 PhD programs-- Harvard, Cornell, Princeton, Yale, Rutgers, Brown, UPenn, Penn State, U of Toronto, and NYU. So far I've been accepted with full funding to both Penn State and UPenn, waitlisted at Princeton, and passed over at Cornell (sadly, it was my first choice). How are you holding up? I think this week is when I'll hear from most of the rest (I got word from both Cornell and UPenn just this morning).

I'm so glad someone has replied! :D

Congrats on your acceptances. And sorry about your top choice. You have a strong list of schools!

So did you apply for German Studies or philosophy??

So you're applying straight out of undergrad?