A chinese applicant's chances of Admission in CS MS programs

kaoziji

Hi, I am a software engineering undergraduate from the Sun Yat-Sen University in China. It's my first post at gradcafe, hope all you guys can understand my poor English.  

I will graduate with a gpa of 3.8/4.0(top 10%~15% maybe) this summer. My major gpa is also 3.8. While they looks not bad, they are calculated by my school's special method.

Profile:
Gre Score : 319. 153 Verbal , 166 Quant

TOEFL Score: 98 (listening:22 speaking: 20 reading:27 writing:29)
I have no research experience because it's really difficult for an undergraduate to do some researches in my school. However, I worked on some commercial projects like android apps and websites. 

I have invited three of my professors to submit recommendations. All of them are in CS professors but none of them enjoys good reputation in this field. 

I have finished applications in Computer Science at following Universities(10 in all):

Columbia,  New York University,  UC San Diego,  UC Irvine,  University of South California,  University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, Northwestern University, Northeastern University,  University of Florida, Washington University in St. Louis

I am really worried about my Toefl score and I wonder if I have any chance of getting into places like Columbia, Washington University in St. Louis. If not which ones listed above are more possible? Any opinion would be welcome. 

thank you

I am not sure if improving your TOEFL score will improve your chances of admission to universities like Columbia, Washington University in St. Louis. These universities are very respected and hard to get into even if you have great stats.

Better get a high known recommended in some CS field - that would be way more effective.

On 3/17/2013 at 2:21 PM, compiler_guy said: