Different packages in different locations

MaximKat

Ok, I'm an international student and while I know that some locations are more expensive than others, it is hard to compare financial offers from different parts of the country.

Yes, I also know that there are several services on the net that can help me with this question, but I'd like to hear opinions of human beings as well :)

So, 18k in Urbana-Champaign, IL vs 29k in Stony Brook, NY

What is better, in your opinion, and how much is the difference?

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=16510 Use the cost of living calculator to get an estimate of the equivalent amount in NY.

Edit: May not be very helpful. I tried. Suffolk county isn't on the drop down menu. However, Urbana Champaign 18K was equivalent to 39K in Manhattan! (So I'm guessing 18K in Urbana Champaign is a pretty good amount. Don't knw about 29K in Stony Brook).

well i think east coast is overall more expensive than midwest. They are both college towns I dont know as much about stonybrook but i know Urbana-champaign is really just a college town in the middle of nowhere, pretty sure 18k would be fine, but i bet in stonybrook with the 29k you'd have more spending money after paying living expenses.

• 2 weeks later...
Ok, I'm an international student and while I know that some locations are more expensive than others, it is hard to compare financial offers from different parts of the country.

Yes, I also know that there are several services on the net that can help me with this question, but I'd like to hear opinions of human beings as well :)

So, 18k in Urbana-Champaign, IL vs 29k in Stony Brook, NY

What is better, in your opinion, and how much is the difference?

I made a spreadsheet to answer this question for my schools, using the COL index from http://realestate.yahoo.com/neighborhoods.

A value of 100 for the COL index is the national average, and 110 would be 10% more expensive, etc.