Georgia Tech Fall 2013

trueblue13

Its getting more and more likely that I am heading to Georgia Tech for the PhD Robotics program in fall 2013. Anyone else here heading to tech? What are people doing for housing?

Edited by trueblue13

I'm a current Tech undergrad, and strongly considering staying here for a masters. On campus housing is decent (was good enough for the 1996 Olympic athletes), but its a sort of rip-off cost wise (~$4k/semester). If you do rent an off campus apartment, make sure its in a safe area.

I'm going to Georgia State for a Ph.D in Neuroscience.  Looking for housing in surrounding areas at the moment.  Buckhad and Decatur are my current best options, but I might be expanding that list. 

I'm heading to Georgia Tech this Fall and I'm excited about it!!! Any suggestions/comments about housing (i'm considering an off campus apartment), life in Atlanta, or anything else?

I'm heading to Georgia Tech this Fall and I'm excited about it!!! Any suggestions/comments about housing (i'm considering an off campus apartment), life in Atlanta, or anything else?

My understanding is that everythign is broken up by neighborhoods and each one has its own positives and negatives.  Figure out whether you like high end clubbing, lower end trendy restaraunts / hangout spots, super cheap living arraignments, or neighborhood safety.  As a future student of Georgia State I'm looking at Buckhead because of the nightlife (clubs, bars, restaraunts, kayaking scenes, etc, and easy access to the MARTA lines as well as overall a safe neighborhood.  Still a 10-15 min train ride into the city center (downtown).  But I think Georgia Tech is actually farther north than State, so it might be like a 5 min ride from Buckhead. 

Then again I'm only going by research and hear say from people I've talked to. Someone who lives there might be more informed.  Decatur is a nice area too.

• 2 weeks later...

Just accepted my offer from GaTech!