Starting PhD and keeping current job

callista

So, I feel like I'm on an emotional roller coaster more than ever.  

I've received full funding, but... I'm an older student with a secure state job (and bills to pay.)  It seems like my best option (for now) might be to go down to 20 hours at this position (would make 2x TA stipend amount) and pay tuition.  I have money in a 529 and I might be able to get reimbursed for some classes through work.  I can work on getting funding for next year.

I think I'll feel better about things once I get some answers from HR, director of graduate studies, etc.  But I'm anxious about making this work and am doubting myself.  Anyone else in a similar situation?

I'm very aware that this is a first world problem... sorry.

Some questions to consider:

Are you planning to go to school full time or are you considering both work and school at half-time? Will teaching experience be beneficial to your future career goals? I don't think anyone expects to live well off of a PhD stipend, but can you make ends meet at your current funding level? Will doubling your income but paying tuition still provide you with more money than the full funding, and if so, is it worth all the additional stress of trying to juggle two priorities and a seriously busy workload?