Clinical Masters vs. Clinical PhD vs. PsyD

beek657

Hi all,

I am an undergraduate psychology student and have been researching graduate programs in clinical psychology and need some help. My end goal is to do applied work, either working at the systems level or in private practice.

According to what I have researched already, it seems that clinical PhD programs train you for a career in academia only (working as a tenured professor/doing research), a masters program is very expensive and may not qualify you to be a licensed therapist in some states, and a psyD is more practice oriented but ends up being very expensive as well (I really don't want to be in over my head in debt).

I am willing to put in my blood, sweat and tears to earn a PhD in clinical psychology, but will it really prepare me to do applied work? Would a masters/PsyD suit my career goals better?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Clinical PhD programs range from almost completely clinical focus to almost completely research focus. So they do not just train you for academia only. Which program you go to depends what career path (clinical vs research vs both) you're most prepared for, but in theory, you could go any way you wanted.

As for a clinical masters, I've been out in the world with that for the last 5ish years. If your interest is in forensic psych (esp. prison treatment), most people have only a Masters degree, the same goes for many licensed mental health counselors.

I currently am in Vermont, which actually does have a Masters level licensed psychologist option, and I think it's one of two states that does (I think the other one is Hawaii).

Keep in mind, that there are many sub-psychologist jobs out there that require only a Masters degree. Two issues with that though:

1) They only require a Masters, today. Credentialling constantly gets tougher.

2) Every state will have differences in their Masters level license/certificate options.