my grad school screwed me!

geenadee

I have been in my grad school off and on for many years (got married, had kids along the way).  This year I decided once and for all to finish and I am graduating this spring.  I was in the molecular/cell bio program and was beginning my thesis. you need permission to register for the thesis and for thesis I last fall I registered.  to move on to thesis II you need to present your proposal and get permission from the director. WELL, the director was sick last semester, so no one was available to help me.  Spring semester comes around and I still did not register for Thesis II because there was no one to register me and I received an incomplete for Thesis I.  then financial aid threatened to withdraw my aid because I did not register.  I was stuck, so someone suggested to change my major so that the director in another program can register me, and thats what I did. so now my major is Medical Lab Sciences/Biomedical Sciences, which is not what I wanted.  I am wondering if anyone thinks that I can receive both degrees?  I meet all requirements for both degree, I'm wondering if I should talk to the Dean.

to move on to thesis II you need to present your proposal and get permission from the director. WELL, the director was sick last semester, so no one was available to help me.  Spring semester comes around and I still did not register for Thesis II because there was no one to register me and I received an incomplete for Thesis I.

I'm surprised that there wasn't an "acting director" or anything during this period. If the director were out sick for a whole semester, I'd imagine that the department would have just transferred his duties to another professor, who could have handled the registering for you. There must have been other people who also needed to register for Thesis II while he was away... how did they do it?