Jobs on the Hill

I recently had a revelation that I would love to work for a member of congress, doing research or press-related stuff on policy issues. I am now trying to make a final school decision with that in mind as a possible goal. I realized, however, that I have very little knowledge of how one even gets such jobs! So I am reaching out to all you gradcafe denizens who may have superior knowledge in this realm!

If you want to be a congressional staffer, how much does the prestige of your grad school matter? Would going to a top 10/15 policy school suffice? How much does being in DC for school matter for access/networking opportunities (for getting a summer internship, and eventually getting a job)? Would it be easiest (or least hard) to get a job with a member of congress from the state where your school is located (assuming you're not in DC)? What do typical salaries look like?

Thanks in advance!

Working on the Hill is a pretty specialized track that requires, for lack of better words, starting at the bottom. If you have no prior experience with a MoC (Member of Congress) office, you most likely will have to start as an intern or staff assistant. Many MoCs specify in job listings that they prefer to hire from their district or applicants with ties to that state/district. Also, since Hill positions are prestigious in their own right, many positions end up going to internal hires (from another branch or committee staffers, etc). While it's not easy, going to school in DC will probably make it a little easier for you, but keep in mind paying off student loans/achieving work-life balance may be very difficult given the fact that Hill jobs involve very long hours and low pay. However, it's a very fast-paced and exciting environment and many Hill staffers go on to higher-paying, private sector lobbying/govt relations careers later on.