Possible for an international student to get into a US English literature program?

I am a senior student majoring in English at Soochow University, China. I am really interested in getting into a literature program in the US, but I am really not sure if I can do it. The admission criteria seem extremely high to me. It is extremely hard to enter PhD programs; quite a few universities even do not offer MA programs.

I've taken the GRE. My verbal is 160(83%) and writing 4(48%). TOEFL:111

Are the scores good enough for grad schools such as Northwestern, U of Washington, and U of Maryland?  

And I guess the greatest obstacle to me is my academic experience. Soochow University is not a particularly prestigious university even in China. 

Can anyone who's had a similar experience offer me some suggestions? (I really want to study in the US but now I'm a little bit freaking out)

Edited by Alex0266

Have you considered applying to US comparative literature programs? As a native Chinese speaker, you could work on both English and Chinese literature, and your language skills would be a big plus. Also, comp lit programs tend to get less applicants than English departments, so the odds might seem a little less daunting.

In terms of scores: I honestly don't think it matters very much. As many people here have commented, scores don't really get you in; you need to have decent scores to be considered (which you do) but beyond that the really important pieces are your statement of purpose, letters of recommendation and your writing sample--*especially* your writing sample. I think admission will be based less on the GRE or the prestige of your home institution than on a sense that you are a strong scholar and a good "fit" for the department, and that will come through in your writing sample more than anywhere else.